

Awards Selection Committee Meeting Minutes | October 2, 2019, 1:00 pm

AGENDA

1. Introductions—Subcommittee members introduced themselves. Sgt. Kevin Harris of the College Station PD is a new member to the committee.

A. Old Business – Lisa

a. Lisa reviewed the background on the award criteria that was set last year. These guidelines were sent to all subcommittee members on October 1.

B. New Business – Lisa and subcommittee

All nominations (11) were discussed in alphabetical order by nominee's last name. Discussion focused on each nominee's activities, how the nominee has impacted and/or reached people in the previous calendar or fiscal year. The subcommittee looked at how each nominees work has impacted impaired driving in Texas.

Following a lengthy discussion, the subcommittee agreed to move the following nominees forward to the Texas Impaired Driving Task Force for ranking:

- 1. Susan Cotter, Harris County Sheriff's Office
- 2. Jaime Esparaza, 34th Judicial District Attorney's Office

These nominees' names and agencies will be redacted before being presented to the TxIDTF so that it is a blind vote. The nominee with the greatest number of votes will be recognized as the Texas Impaired Driving Safety Champion; the other nominee will be recognized as the Texas Impaired Driving Difference Maker.

The committee selected the following nominees for Honorable Mention recognition:

- 1. Samantha Baldwin, Corpus Christi PD
- 2. Marshal Field, Bryan PD
- 3. Chief Jonathan Flores, Alton PD
- 2. Future Business/Timeline
 - Laura will prepare ballots and information about each nominee to be voted on by the TxIDTF at the meeting on October 10, 2019.
 - Lisa will present the 2 nominees to the TxIDTF at the meeting on Oct. 10, 2019.
 - Winners will be kept confidential until they are notified just prior to the February 2020 Impaired Driving Forum.

Subcommittee Members in Attendance:

- Lisa Robinson
- Cecil Marquart
- Kevin Harris
- Laura Mooney (Task Force Administration Representative)

Meeting was adjourned at 1:54 pm.